Past Annual Meetings

The inaugural meeting of the Section was held at The University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology on January 6, 1997. Details of past meetings can also be found on the SIAM Archive webpage.

2016 Cambridge
Speakers: Pam Cook (SIAM President, University of Delaware), Martin Hairer, FRS (University of Warwick), Jasmina Lazic (MathWorks), Sarah Mitchell (University of Limerick), Jennifer Pestana (University of Strathclyde), Simon Tavaré, FRS, FMedSci (LMS President, Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute & DAMTP, University of Cambridge), Barbara Wohlmuth (IMA Sponsored Speaker, Technische Universität München, Germany).

2015 Bath
Speakers: Robert Scheichl (University of Bath), Michel Destrade (National University of Ireland, Galway), Jon Chapman (University of Oxford), Vanessa Styles (University of Sussex), Marco Iglesias (University of Nottingham), Beth Wingate (University of Exeter).

2014 UCL
Speakers: Robert MacKay (University of Warwick), Irene Fonseca (SIAM President, Carnegie Mellon University), Nick Gould (Rutherford Appleton Lab), Stephen Hendry (Oasys Software Ltd.), Niall Madden (National University of Ireland, Galway), and Alain Goriely (University of Oxford).

2013 Reading
Speakers: Coralia Cartis (University of Edinburgh), Francoise Tisseur (University of Manchester), Clifford Nolan (University of Limerick), Sebastian Reich (Potsdam, Germany), and Endre Süli (University of Oxford).

2012 Leicester
Speakers: Helen Byrne (University of Oxford), Simon Chandler-Wilde (University of Reading), Charlie Elliott (University of Warwick), Bill Lionheart (University of Manchester), Alex Lipton (Bank of America Merrill Lynch/Imperial College), and Phillipe Toint (University of Namur).

2011 Manchester
Speakers: Simon Arridge (University College London), Charlie Elliott (University of Warwick), Volker Mehrmann (TU Berlin), Mark Panitz (BAE Systems), Beatrice Pelloni (University of Reading), and Nick Trefethen, FRS (Incoming SIAM President, University of Oxford).

2010 Edinburgh
Speakers: Barbara Niethammer (University of Oxford), Matthias Heil (University of Manchester), Philip Maini (University of Oxford), Douglas Arnold (SIAM President, University of Minnesota), Ivan Graham (University of Bath), Michael Tretyakov (University of Leicester), and Greg Pavliotis (Imperial College).

2009 Limerick
Speakers: Andrew Fowler (University of Limerick), Andy Wathen (University of Oxford), Robin Knowles (TotalSim), Annick Sartenaer (University of Namur, Belgium), Dave Hewett (University of Oxford, SIAM Student Chapter), and James Gleeson (University of Limerick).

2008 Southampton
Speakers: Roland Keunings (Universite Catholique de Louvain), Celia Glass (City University), Christine De Mol (Universite Libre de Bruxelles), Chris Farmer (Schlumberger), Peter Jimack (University of Leeds), and John King (University of Nottingham).

2007 Oxford
Speakers: Linda Cummings (University of Nottingham), Cleve Moler (SIAM President, Mathworks), Jon Chapman (University of Oxford), Andy Woods (University of Cambridge), Alison Ramage (University of Strathclyde), and Andrew Stuart (University of Warwick).

2006 Cardiff
Speakers: Peter Clarkson (University of Kent), Marty Golubitsky (SIAM President, University of Houston), Des Higham (University of Strathclyde), Ben Leimkuhler (University of Leicester), and Hinke Osinga (University of Bristol).

2005 Cork
Speakers: Russell Davies (University of Wales, Aberystwyth), Ivan Graham (University of Bath), Neil O’Connell (University of Warwick), Niall O’Murchadha (University College Cork), and Alexei Pokrovskii (University College Cork).

2004 Sheffield
Speakers: David Thomson (UK Met Office), Lucy Wyatt (University of Sheffield), Alastair Fitt (University of Southampton), Pat Fitzpatrick (University College Cork), and Jack Dongarra (University of Tennessee/ORNL).

2003 Bath
Speakers: Helen Byrne (University of Nottingham), Doug Arnold (Minnesota), John Toland (University of Bath), John Billingham (University of Birmingham), and Philippe Toint (University of Namur).

2002 Leeds
Speakers: Brian Sleeman (University of Leeds), Nick Higham (University of Manchester), Jens Marklof (University of Bristol), John Willis (University of Cambridge), and John Gibbon (Imperial College).

2001 Strathclyde
Speakers: Tim Goodman (University of Dundee), Howard Elman (University of Maryland), Valerie Isham (University College London), Mark Davis (Imperial College), and Alex Craik (University of St Andrews).

2000 Imperial College London
Speakers: John Ball (University of Oxford), John Dold (UMIST), Roger Fletcher (University of Dundee), Derek Moore (Imperial College), and Jan Verwer (CWI, Netherlands).

1999 Imperial College London
Speakers: Chris Budd (University of Bath), Charlie Elliot (University of Sussex), Colin Please (University of Southampton), Gil Strang (MIT, SIAM President), and Martin Stynes (University of Ireland, Cork).

1998 UMIST
Speakers: John Hinch (University of Cambridge), Rupert Klein (Free University of Berlin), Mark Chaplain (University of Dundee), Bill Morton (Oxford/Bath), and Nick Trefethen (University of Oxford).

1997 UMIST
Speakers: David Crighton (University of Cambridge), John Ockendon (University of Oxford), David Sloan (University of Strathclyde), Trevor Stuart (Imperial College), and Margaret Wright (SIAM President).

Below is a SIAM News report about this inaugural SIAM UKIE meeting. Document courtesy of David Silvester. SIAM News report about inaugural SIAM UKIE meeting