SIAM UKIE Annual Meeting 2017

The 21st Annual Meeting of the UK and Republic of Ireland Section of SIAM will be hosted by the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Strathclyde, on Thursday, 12th of January 2017.

The meeting features three keynote and three early career speakers, and a poster session. Some travel support is available for students with an accepted poster presentation, and there will be a Best Poster Prize.

Registration is free of charge and now open until 16th of December 2016. Tea, coffee, and lunch will be provided for participants who register on-line. Attendees will have the opportunity to join the organisers and speakers for an evening meal, at their own expense. Here is the list of participants.

Speakers and Organizers

Keynote Speakers:
Nick Higham – The University of Manchester
Jeremy Morley – Ordnance Survey
Sarah Waters – University of Oxford

Early Career Speakers:
Marta M. Betcke – University College London
Lyuba Chumakova – The University of Edinburgh
Angela Mihai – Cardiff University

Des Higham – University of Strathclyde
Jennifer Scott – STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
Stefan Güttel – The University of Manchester

Venue, Travel, and Accomodation

The meeting will take place between 9:30am and 5pm at

    Court Suite
    Collins Building
    University of Strathclyde
    22 Richmond Street
    Glasgow G1 1XQ

Limited travel support is available for some students with an accepted poster presentation. Students can use the Registration Form to submit their poster abstract. Notification of acceptance for a poster presentation will be given via email no later than 20th of December 2016. This email will then provide further details about possible travel support.

The closest hotel to the venue is the Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Premier Inn.

Please invite your colleagues and students to this meeting! A printable poster is available here.
A list of past Annual Meetings 1997–2016 can be found here.